Nicolas Andry Lifetime Achievement Award 
Call for Nominations

The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons® sponsors this award of $10,000.

View Past Winners


  • Experienced orthopaedic investigators, including surgeons doing clinically relevant basic or patient-oriented research.
  • Candidates may be nominated by others or may nominate themselves for the award.
  • The nominee must be responsible for a body of musculoskeletal research that has significantly contributed to orthopaedic knowledge, and has been conducted and published over an extended period of time. The work may be ongoing.
  • Nominators may propose only one candidate per year for the award.


  • All submissions must be submitted electronically to The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons® (ABJS®) at [email protected]. Please use "Nicolas Andry Award Nomination" and the nominee's last name in the subject line.
  • The nominator must list peer-reviewed papers published by the nominee on the topic, the principle(s) promoted and developed, and what advancements in orthopaedics the research led to.
  • The nominator must be prepared to defend the work done and the reason for nomination.
  • Word count must be less than 3,000 words.
  • Please include a copy of the nominee's current curriculum vitae.
  • Submissions will not be accepted after November 1, 2019.

Criteria for Selection

  • The Awards Committee will consider the following in making their decision: 1) the scope of the body of work; 2) the current relevance of the studies as a whole; 3) the impact of the work; 4) the clarity and coherence of the presentation; 5) the extent to which the investigator is deserving of a lifetime achievement award.


  • The awardee must present his or her work at the next annual meeting of The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons®, April 29-May 3, 2020, in Sea Island, Georgia. The registration fee for the Association’s Annual Meeting will be waived for the author and one accompanying person. Coach airfare and hotel expenses for the awardee will be paid by the ABJS.

The deadline for submission is November 1, 2019.

Please address all inquiries to:

The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons
Nicolas Andry Award
Jonathan Forsberg, MD, PhD, Committee Chair
300 S. Northwest Highway, Suite 203
Park Ridge, IL 60068

Or email [email protected].