Marshall R. Urist Young Investigator Award

The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons®, in conjunction with
Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research®, sponsors this award of $5,000.

View Past Winners


  • Orthopaedic surgeon investigators less than 40 years of age, or less than 7 years post-training (including fellowships) at the time of application.
  • Submitted work must deal with clinically relevant laboratory or clinical research related to the musculoskeletal system, and should reflect work primarily done by the young investigator.
  • This research may not have won any award or have been previously submitted to, under consideration at, or published as a full paper in any journal.
  • Only one manuscript per principal investigator may be submitted. Submission for the Marshall R. Urist Young Investigator Award precludes simultaneous submission for the ABJS/CORR® Nicolas Andry Award.


  • Submissions must be based upon new investigational studies or be high quality meta-analyses or systematic reviews.
  • All submissions must be submitted electronically via the CORR® Editorial Manager website ( beween May 15–August 31, 2017, and must adhere to the CORR® Guidelines for Authors found at under the "Tools for Authors" tab. Please use the appropriate downloadable template for manuscript preparation. If you have problems submitting, please contact the CORR® office at 215-392-0270. Submissions will not be accepted after August 31, 2017.
  • All submissions will be considered as submissions to Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research®.
  • The body of the text should not exceed ten manuscript pages.
  • Full disclosure of any financial support received for the work and/or full disclosure of any financial conflicts of interest related to the work are required.
  • Establishment of authorship must be based on published CORR® policy.
  • All institutional affiliations of authors or acknowledged individuals must be specified.
  • To complete your submission, please e-mail a precise statement of the Principal Investigator’s role in the submitted work and a current curriculum vitae


  • The winning paper must be presented at the next annual meeting of The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons®, May 2-6, 2018, in Lisbon, Portugal.
  • The winning manuscript will be published in Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research® pending peer review prior to publication.
  • The registration fee for the Association’s Annual Meeting will be waived for the author and one accompanying person. Travel and hotel expenses will be paid by the ABJS.

The deadline for submission is August 31, 2017.

Please address all inquiries to:

The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons
Marshall R. Urist Young Investigator Award
Leonid Kandel, MD, Committee Chair
300 S. Northwest Highway, Suite 203
Park Ridge, IL 60068